

## Annual General Meeting on May 2<sup>nd</sup> 2023

Attendees: Michael Corfield (Acting Chairman), Andy Dunkers (Vice-Chair), John Cypher, Dorothy

Snaddon, Pete Cain, Owain Lewis, Richard Woodward, Cllr Annette English Bromsgrove DC, Cllr Marc Worrall Alvechurch PC, Maggie Moore, Pauline Knight, Mike

Stilwell, Brian Jones, Sheila Pellowe, Martin Miller (Secretary).

**Apologies received from:** James McManus, Wendy Easter, Mark Easter

## **Approval of Minutes**

The minutes of the meeting held on May 3<sup>rd</sup> 2022 were approved.

Matters Arising from the Minutes. No matters were arising.

## Chairperson's report.

Michael Cofield indicated that the rotation of the RGA Chair would continue between members of the RGA Executive Committee.

The heavy lorries involved in the demolition of the Bordesley Hall industrial buildings had caused numerous water main bursts. Severn Trent had to close The Holloway for several weeks whilst the main was replaced. John Cypher had identified a further 18 water supply interruptions had occurred during 2022. As a result of representation by the RGA, Severn Trent have upgraded the village booster pumps and all village residents have received a rebate of one year's water payments.

The planning application for Bordesley Hall (3 apartments and for 46 houses) was given final approval by Bromsgrove Council in March despite the many objections and the efforts of the RGA and local councillor Annette English. Our efforts may have mitigated the amount of street lighting to be approved, but we await details.

It was disappointing that Alvechurch Parish Council went ahead and sold the Gravel Pit on Gravel Pit Lane to the highest bidder despite the RGA having objected to the lack of village consultation and carrying out a village-wide consultation which had been presented to the APC showing an overwhelming preference for the gravel pit to be transferred to the village and wider community via the Hayward Trust Charity.

Flooding on Rowney Green Lane outside the entrance to The Dell continued to be a problem. Some recent drain clearing had been done which has temporarily improved the situation. The effort to get a satisfactory response from our County Councillor Aled Luckman continues.

At our March meeting we welcomed Mr Thomas Watkins who on behalf of the Worcestershire Wildlife Trust presented a very informative talk about the Trust and about the origins and planned development of Newbourne Wood.

It was pleasing to note that we have increased the RGA membership with 9 new households joining this year.

John Cypher asked how the issues around the lighting for the Bordesley Hall (BH) development were being addressed and drew attention to the difference between street lighting and low-level footpath lighting in terms of dark sky pollution. The planning office, ClIr English and the developers were due to meet to take this forward. ClIr English said the Worcestershire County Council were still deciding on light pollution policy and that this would probably not be in place in time for the BH development. John Cypher drew attention to the fact that the Gravel Pit had been sold to a private owner and that as such, Alvechurch PC had not been able to arrange regular public access sessions. Helpfully the new owner was willing to arrange some public access following necessary work on the Gravel Pit and securing necessary insurance cover.

**Treasurer's report.** A copy was distributed and summarised by the treasurer. John Cypher sought and was given assurance that funds were available for an information board about Newbourne Wood to be erected in liaison with the Worcestershire Wildlife Association.

The annual subscription will stay at £5 per year.

## **Nominations and election of Executive Committee**

No objections were raised with respect to continuing with a rotating Chair for the meetings organised between the Executive members.

Mr Michael Corfield was nominated and elected as Treasurer, ratified by attendees
Mr Andy Dunkers was nominated and elected as Deputy Chairperson, ratified by attendees
Mr Martin Miller was nominated and elected as Secretary, ratified by attendees.
Mr John Cypher was nominated to be on the Executive Committee, ratified by attendees.
Mr James McManus was nominated post hoc to be on the Executive Committee and ratified post hoc by the Executive Committee.

Date of next AGM – Tuesday May 7<sup>th</sup> 2024 at 7:30pm